Meet The Presbytery Staff

Russell B. Gladding

rgladding@savannahpresbytery.orgRussell’s Blog Posts

Russell’s responsibilities include being a pastor to the pastors by praying for them and providing guidance and support; aiding the work of the churches by visiting, preaching, assisting with transitions in leadership, interpreting for them the work of the larger church, helping churches work together; and serving as the head of the presbytery staff, helping them work together to implement the mission and programs of the Presbytery. Russell works closely with the Moderator of Presbytery, Coordinating Council and Teams to continue and expand the work of the presbytery, and is the Chief Executive Officer.

Russell serves as Stated Clerk which is the chief judicial office of Savannah Presbytery. He assists in planning the agenda for each Stated Meeting and keeps the minutes, works with the churches to compile the annual statistics, maintains the rolls of the minister members, and provides constitutional counsel to committees as necessary.

As Treasurer, Russell is responsible for maintaining and reporting on the finances of the Savannah Presbytery; maintaining the insurance coverage for the office and providing stewardship training for the presbytery; can help churches with financial and accounting questions, and can assist with risk management.

Russell is an Elder at First Presbyterian Church in Brunswick, and a Commissioned Ruling Elder. Married for over 30 years, Russell and Kathy have five grown children, nine grandchildren, three dogs and three cats. They live in the Harris Neck area of northeast McIntosh County where they enjoy fishing and other outdoor activities.

Liz Richardson

Liz is responsible for the Presbytery’s office management and financial business.  She receives and disperses all monies for the presbytery, maintains all records and documentation of transactions, maintains all financial accounts and computer programs; purchasing and billing; payroll and taxes; maintains all human resource records and staff employee benefits. She also assists the Presbytery with providing reports to staff and committees and acts as communications manager. Liz has been married for 30 years to Dave, and has two grown sons, and three grandchildren.  Although a California native, she’s lived all over the country (thanks to the military and corporate America), but is happy to now call Glynn County home.

Beth Sutton

Beth joined the staff as a part-time employee in early 2012. She is responsible for communication within the Presbytery. She creates content and manages the website, updates the Savannah Presbytery Facebook group and is keeping the Presbytery’s database records up-to-date. She handles registration and communication materials for all presbytery events including the Leadership Development Conference, School of the Laity, Youth Camp and Stated Meetings. She works mornings at First Brunswick and is at the Presbytery Monday through Thursday afternoons. She lives in historic downtown Brunswick with her husband, Starling. She has one daughter who is attending Georgia College & State University in Milledgeville.

Rev. Mary Beene

Mary is responsible for administration of the MK Pentecost fund, and coordinating and facilitating annual grant reviews and disbursement of grant monies. She also assists the MK Pentecost Committee.